Where is the Rugby Championship being played 2023?

SANZAAR has confirmed the match schedule for the six-match 2023 Rugby Championship.

As is customary in a Rugby World Cup year, the usual 12-match tournament is reduced to a one-round, home or away, six-match tournament in July. Two additional matches including a second Bledisloe Cup match and a second South Africa versus Argentina have also been scheduled in early August following The Rugby Championship and prior to the Rugby World Cup in France that kicks off in early September.

With the FIFA Women’s World Cup also taking place in Australia and New Zealand in July-August the availability of venues has been a challenging one. Reflecting this, the New Zealand versus South Africa match will be played at Mt Smart Stadium in Auckland. Australia will play its two home matches at CommBank Stadium in Sydney and the MCG in Melbourne. 

South Africa’s home TRC matches will take place in Johannesburg and Pretoria while Argentina will host its home match in Mendoza.

SANZAAR CEO Brendan Morris stated, “Despite the tournament being shortened due to the Rugby World Cup In France later in the year the Tournament will undoubtedly be contested fiercely by the All Blacks, Pumas, Springboks and Wallabies. The prestigious title of TRC Champions means a lot to all of the teams and will allow rugby fans across Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa an exciting look at the teams prior to them heading off to the Rugby World Cup.”

“The SANZAAR teams have a proud record at the Rugby World Cup and The Rugby Championship plays a big part in that year-in-year-out, being one of the pre-eminent rugby tournaments on the international rugby calendar that includes many of the best players in the world.”